This box searches only this space. The box at the upper right searches the entire iPlant wiki.

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This is the home of the Scientific Opportunities Team space.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact iPlant Collaborative Support .

Note: You can use the wiki code in this initial page as a new template (Browse -> Advanced).

The iPlant Science Opportunities Team Forum


Objectives of the Science Opportunities Team (SOT) 2009 - 2010

To consider the nature of what the new Grand Challenge (GC) proposals should be, with foci on;
a) Bringing the Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology (EEOB), and Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB) communities together around a shared vision for plant CI.
b) Integration of the use of CI into the broad plant community through new education activities.
To engage the community to facilitate the generation of such new GC proposalswith the objective of ensuring that the options presented to the iPlant Board of Directors for new GCs are the best possible and most broadly representative. The iPlant Board of Directors would still have final authority to decide on which GC proposals move forward.
To develop the Spring 2010 iPlant Conference with a focus on facilitating the first two objectives.

Original Letter from Rich Jorgensen (iPlant Principal Investigator) describing SOT

SOT Members

David Salt (Purdue University) - mechanisms of regulation, bioinformatics, genomics dsalt@purdue.edu
Ann Stapleton (UNC Wilmington) – Statistical genetics and CI development stapletona@uncw.edu
David Ackerly (UC Berkeley) - Plant ecology and evolution dackerly@berkeley.edu
David Neale (UCDavis) - Tree ecogenomics dbneale@ucdavis.edu
James Macklin (Harvard University Herbarium) - Collections and informatics jmacklin@oeb.harvard.edu
John Willis (Duke University) - Evolutionary genetics and adaptation jwillis@duke.edu
Klaas Jan van Wijk (Cornell) – Proteomics and biochemistry kv35@cornell.edu
Missy Holbrook (Harvard University) - Plant physiology holbrook@oeb.harvard.edu
Ramin Yadegari (University of Arizona) – internal iPlant liaison, Plant development and epigenetics yadegari@email.arizona.edu
Simon Gilroy (University of Madison) – Cell Biology sgilroy@wisc.edu
Vicki Funk (Smithsonian Institution) - Phylogenetics, biodiversity, conservation biology funkv@si.edu    

Original invitation letter

Working Group Leads

Adaptation - John Willis
Global Diversity - David Ackerly/Jim Macklin
Plant Nutrition - Martin Broadley
Tree Biology - David Neale
Physiology - Missy Holbrook/Simon Gilroy

Labels

gis gis Delete
ci ci Delete
scientific scientific Delete
opportunities opportunities Delete
orientation orientation Delete
presentations presentations Delete
seed seed Delete
project project Delete
sot sot Delete
meeting meeting Delete
notes notes Delete
Enter labels to add to this page:
Please wait 
Looking for a label? Just start typing.